Book Reviews

Here’s what Amazon Reviewers are saying! 

Tiger Kingdom & The Book of Destiny by Stacie Eirich, Illustrated by Suzanne Hunt 

on May 5, 2017
This was a magical tale that held your interest from chapter one. It was very well written and the characters were fun. I would recommend this book.

on March 5, 2017
Oh to be an 8 year old again! I thought I was going to read this and fall asleep….but not so…it was such a delightful read I couldn’t put it down. Nice sort of bedtime story for kids but no… I enjoyed it so much, I felt like it was so nice to feel like I am an eight year old again. Kids adventure, kids suspense, never a dull moment and poetry interspersed brings it up a couple of notches… really nice. Nice cover…nice illustrations, a joy to read. A solid 5 star.

5 out of 5 stars An Intense and Great Read!
on January 19, 2017
The first thing that struck me about this is the description, which rhymes and is in the shape of a little poem for the first half. I should’ve seen it coming, but turns out every chapter starts this way, with a little poem in front of it! I absolutely love things like this in books, where the format itself is unique and makes a reader smile. Not only that, but the poetry was pretty well-written, so kudos to the author.
Besides that, the story was also very good. I like how it set up the rest of the series, which promises to be just as good if not even better. It’s a pretty short book, but that makes it all the more enjoyable. Such a simple, delicate book, it holds some nice concepts for the middle-grade readers, which seems to be what this is intended for. Nonetheless, I enjoyed it and would recommend this to all types of readers.

on August 30, 2017

Middle age fantasy novel, Tiger Kingdom and the Book of Destiny, by Stacie Eirich, is a fun and fantastical journey that is sure to engage the young readers imagination.

Twins, Suzie and Jack, are transported through an enchanted drawing and find themselves in an unknown world, inhabited by strange talking creatures and ruled by a white tiger. The only other humans in this mysterious world are two other siblings, Liam and Elena, who have been lost in this fantasy world for some time. Like the twins, they also find themselves in the same predicament, stuck in a world they don’t understand yet are seemingly connected too, with no idea how to get home. The four set out on a quest that will hopefully ensure peace for the kingdom and a way home for all of them.

Eirich has created a world rich in vibrancy and characters that are likable and relevant. Written for a younger audience, the prose is simple and the storyline moves at a quick pace, keeping the reader engaged. Filled with fantastical birds, a little green dragon, and regal tigers, the story entices the readers imagination and awe in the characters adventures.

Each chapter has a unique poem at the beginning and little illustrations throughout, both of which enhance the chapter content. These unexpected inclusions, promote Eirich’s unique stylized writing and her interesting approach to a fantasy genre propagated to a younger audience. The storyline seems to move through a dreamy state which either foreshadows the series ending or enhances the series “Dream Chronicle” moniker.

Tiger Kingdom and the Book of Destiny is the first book in the Dream Chronicle series and is a short, quick, and easy read, both satisfying in content, and storyline for the age group intended. Although it ends without much fanfare or an intriguing cliffhanger, I suspect that book two may make up for it with an interesting and possibly dangerous adventure in the “villains” homeland. I also hope that the backstories of Liam and Elena are explored, as their presence in this world prior to the twin’s appearance provokes a multitude of questions.

The book is a great start to what could be an entertaining middle grade series, perfect for fans of the Chronicles of Narnia, the Land of Stories series, or anyone who enjoys getting lost in fantastical worlds full of exciting adventures and delightful characters.


on October 4, 2017
Tiger Kingdom is a wonderful little story about a brother and sister who stumble upon a secret kingdom, find their destiny, and encounter magical beasts in a fantastical universe. Lovely hand drawn illustrations enhance the descriptions and help the reader connect to this strange new world. Age appropriate for younger elementary through middle school and engaging with fun interactions and dialogue. Children in these age ranges will be fascinated by the crazy adventures of Suzie and Jack. In a lot of way I was reminded of Aslan in the Chronicles of Narnia. The poems compiled at the end were also a nice little addition. A fun family read to enjoy!!
 

4 out of 5 stars Tiger Kingdom is a fun read that I picked up first for myself

on October 7, 2017

Tiger Kingdom is a fun read that I picked up first for myself, and now I’m letting my children enjoy the work. Eirich does a wonderful job of merging fantasy and reality to create an exciting world for her readers. I enjoyed the ‘twin’ aspect in the novel. Even through there is a dream-like quality to the book, having a sibling makes it somehow more real and substantial for me, and I enjoyed the thought that this wonderful magical adventure could take place instead of just being in Suzie’s imagination. Jack also made the adventure seem somehow safer and put me more at ease with Suzie’s journey to another land where dangers do exist. Our family will look forward to the continuing saga of the Dream Chronicles.


4 out of 5 stars Fantastic Tale

on August 31, 2017

My love for reading is rooted in fanciful tales, such as my very favorite, Alice in Wonderland. So when I say this has a fantastical quality I mean that as a high complement. There were so many little things about this tale that spoke to my inner child. The opening of each chapter was written in poetic prose, setting the scene and giving a clue as to what was in store for the twins, Suzie and Jack. Even beyond that opening there appears to be careful thought to the melodic tone that gives the entire book a dreamy quality.

I was really taken by the world created, tigers have always been special to me, so it was easy to sink into a world ruled by the majestic creatures. It moved at a fast pace, filled with adventure and action that will hold the attention of the target audience. The magic aspects were fascinating and I look forward to learning more about what awaits Suzie and Jack. I found the end a touch abrupt, even so I would still seek out and read the next part, and recommend it for readers of all ages.


on May 7, 2017
The dream world is very magical, enchanting, and imaginative and I loved seeing the wonder of the two twins (brother and sister) as they enter this fantasy realm. I concluded that it must be a dream, which is great, since the portal into the magic is unclear and it simply says they entered it, and a lot of reference is made to sleeping in bed and going off into dreamland. If so, I like it, and this book celebrates a lot about childhood and the imagination that we once had.

on May 16, 2017

What a fun, quick, and entertaining story! I am a huge fan of fairytales, and Tiger Kingdom and the Book of Destiny was a wonderful adventure to read. The story begins with Suzie being awoken by the sounds of tigers rushing in the streets. Was it a dream? Had the tigers escaped from the circus in town? From the very first page, you are whisked along on a fast-paced ride, following the adventures of Suzie and her twin brother, Jack.

The chapters were quite short, but they were packed with details and wonderful descriptions of the world that Suzie and Jack find themselves in. I love fast-paced books, and this story kept me turning the pages, but it ended so quickly. I do wish the story was a bit longer, stretching out the tale so that I could have had more time in the world of the Tiger Kingdom. The poems at the end of the book were a nice surprise, as were the illustrations!

Tiger Kingdom and the Book of Destiny was an enjoyable read, and I will definitely read more stories from this author.


Space to Dream: Poems by Stacie Eirich

5 out of 5 starTake a journey, dream, be delighted

on January 9, 2017

A very moving, touching and rewarding read. This collection of poetry was a delight to experience. 
It offers beautiful imagery, depth of emotion, tenderness and strength.
I was transported to places where I want poetry to take me!!
I recommend this book to anyone who wants to be inspired, uplifted, encouraged.

on April 14, 2016
Poetess Stacie Eirich pleasantly surprised me, her collection of poetry I read in one breath. With the first poem Sand Castel was given my affection, her feelings and thoughts blend in with the beautiful verses. In its verses feels nostalgia, love, sadness and imagination. Of the poem I’d like to single out the more Prelude to a Storm, My lake, Irish rose, Eternal Evening, River of Song, Midnight Make-up, Momentary Vision and Noni- for Nadine Taylor. I’m glad that I had the opportunity to read this collection of poetry.

5 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning!
on May 17, 2016
I absolutely loved every poem from start to finish. Each poem was like a priceless pearl.
I did note the author’s love for the Winter Season and the ice element. That was particularly used in the romantic section.
If you love poetic takes on love, the erotic, introspection and perspective on the world, this collection is most definitely for you.I look forward to reading more.

5 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection!
on April 21, 2016
This is the first collection of poems that I have read and I was thoroughly impressed. Within these beautiful writings, it’s like you can also feel the author’s, Stacie Eirich, differing thoughts and emotions dancing across the pages. Space to Dream: Poems is inspirational yet soothing, I was a little sad when I was finished with the collection because I did not want to stop reading.

One of the poems that caught my eye was Ocean’s Pearl: “I put all my shells back, keep this one pearl, all I need, to remember the beauty of the ocean”.I’m excited to see what else the author will produce; I highly recommend this wonderful collection!


4 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection
on May 2, 2016
It’s always enjoyable to take up poetry and gain perspective of how another sees and interprets the beautiful and mundane moments of life. Eirich takes you on a lovely adventure in Space to Dream.

Overall Thoughts on the Collection

I like when I can read another’s work and not only be entertained but enlightened in some way. An author’s wisdom often comes through the lines of a character – or in this case from the poets’s pen. There were some wonderful insights throughout the work. Particular favourites were the Journey of the Reader and Life as a Stage. These echoed the sentiments I felt about the same journey and struck a chord. To quote Eirich,

On my stage, I can only
go forward, I can only
become brighter
until I reach perfection
only then does the applause come.

This is a wonderful sentiment of how many writers, poets and people would surely feel about the journey. For me and my craft, it couldn’t be more apt. Tender and moving, artful and sometimes whimsical, I know the poetry enthusiast will enjoy Space to Dream.


Into The Light: Poems by Stacie Eirich 

4 out of 5 Stars  A Breath of Fresh Air
on June 5, 2017
 

4 out of 5 Stars Inspirational and thought-provoking

on June 24, 2017

Spring Awakening: Poems by Stacie Eirich
4 out of 5 stars Musical spring poems
on August 18, 2016
Spring Awakening: Poems by Stacie Eirich are wonderful poems with the images of spring in them. The poems are accompanied by delightful pictures taken by the author. They contain the images of a woman with young children celebrating the arrival of spring. According to the forward, they are the first she has written in a long time. They are refreshing. The images picture the arrival of spring with its delights, warm weather, and rain. They reflect the months of April through June. The poems could be read to children because they are musical and contain images that even the young would recognize.
I enjoyed the poems. I loved the images that the poet uses to express where she is in life. She uses images of her children and her writing corner. She has a young spirit that is waking up to her creative possibilities. I think she bears watching as she matures her poetic style. I give this work a four out of five stars because I thought it was a little short and wanted more.

4 out of 5 stars Uplifting and smooth

on August 8, 2016

This is the second book by this author that I have read. Her poems have a very steady tempo, reading them fells very much like laying back and listening to smooth jazz. Calm and relaxing. The author colours her poems with vivid imagery and clear sounds that allows the reading to slip into her world. Call me lazy if you like, but I’d like to have someone read these to me. I could easily see this being turned into an audio book. In the past I would have avoided poetry books, but now I would quite happily pick up another.

 Canvas of Imagination: Poems by Stacie Eirich 
on June 13, 2016

This collection of poems is a reflection of a young girls dreams. I say this because the images used are rainbows, unicorns, fairies, etc. They are good poems expressive of the uncertainty​ that accompanies a young age. I enjoyed reading them. The images have their own grace and peace.


on May 22, 2016

I don’t usually read poetry, but I seemed to get along with this book. The poems themselves were well written. Each had a different meaning, a different purpose, but at the end of the day they told the same story.

She talked about the world in general, and the things she would do to save it. There was a mixture of fantasy and reality with each of the 16 poems that this book holds.I enjoyed it for what it was, and took in every word.